Perfect Fifths – Megan McCafferty

Title: Perfect Fifths
Author: Megan McCafferty
ISBN: 9780307346520
Pages: 272
Release Date: April 14, 2009
Publisher: Crown
Genre: Chick Lit
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

From the dust jacket:

Old flames are reignited in the fifth and final book in the New York Times bestselling Jessica Darling series.

Captivated readers have followed Jessica through every step and misstep: from her life as a tormented, tart-tongued teenager to her years as a college grad stumbling toward adulthood. Now a young professional in her mid-twenties, Jess is off to a Caribbean wedding. As she rushes to her gate at the airport, she literally runs into her former boyfriend, Marcus Flutie. It’s the first time she’s seen him since she reluctantly turned down his marriage proposal three years earlier–and emotions run high.

Marcus and Jessica have both changed dramatically, yet their connection feels as familiar as ever. Is their reunion just a fluke or has fate orchestrated this collision of their lives once again?

Told partly from Marcus’s point of view, Perfect Fifths  finally lets readers inside the mind of the one person who’s both troubled and titillated Jessica Darling for years. Expect nothing less than the satisfying conclusion fans have been waiting for, one perfect in its imperfection. . . .

I am a huge fan of Megan McCafferty’s Jessica Darling series, so I wanted to read Perfect Fifths as soon as it came out.  I knew it was the last book in the series, and while sad it was coming to an end, I was eager to see what happened between Jessica and Marcus and if they finally ended up together.

First of all, an important tidbit – if you haven’t read the rest of the series, you will not enjoy this book.  You will not understand this book.  You will not see what so many others have seen in this series.  Why?  Because Perfect Fifths is completely different than the rest of the books in this series.  The other books are written as journals, with a lot of inner monologue.  Perfect Fifths has little internal monologue.  Part of it is written as a normal book, from both Jessica and Marcus’ point of view.  Part of it is written as a conversation, with no emotions and narration whatsoever.  And part of it, weirdly enough, is written as haiku.  It’s basically a book for fans of Jessica and Marcus, for those who understand their complicated history.  It’s not a book to introduce new readers to the series.

Though some fans of the book might not like the conversation between Marcus and Jessica, I absolutely loved it.  It showed how much both of them have changed, yet also how both of them are exactly the same.  Just the conversation was enough to convince me that their chemistry hasn’t changed one bit.  I also liked that the secondary characters weren’t really in this book.  At its core, the Jessica Darling series has always been about Jessica and Marcus.  It’s only fitting that the series end with a book just about the two of them.

That being said, I have mixed feelings about Perfect Fifths just because it is so different than the first four.  I’m not saying it’s bad because I thoroughly enjoyed it and the format worked for the short amount of time the book covers.  It’s just strange to go from reliable journal entries to something completely different for the last book in a series.

I was happy with the way it ended, though I wanted more.  That’s not a criticism, but a testament to how powerful a writer Megan McCafferty is.  I don’t just want one more book, I want 5 more, 10 more.  I don’t want this series to have ended.  McCafferty created such wonderful, realistic characters that I’m sad to say goodbye to.  Still, Perfect Fifths was a great ending to a wonderful series and I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!

Comments

  1. I’ve heard so many good things about Megan McCafferty. But it’s good to know if I finally find her books not already gone in the library, I’ll want to try to take them in order!

  2. I’ve heard so many good things about Megan McCafferty. But it’s good to know if I finally find her books not already gone in the library, I’ll want to try to take them in order!

  3. I haven’t read any of these books, so I guess I’d need to start with the first one. Thanks for the warning.

  4. I haven’t read any of these books, so I guess I’d need to start with the first one. Thanks for the warning.

  5. I really should add this series to my wish list. I always read books in order, so no chance I’d jump in with this one.

  6. I really should add this series to my wish list. I always read books in order, so no chance I’d jump in with this one.

Leave a Reply

Comment Policy:  I welcome comments and read each one I receive. If your comment needs a response, I will provide it in a timely manner, as I read every comment I receive. Please keep your comments civil and polite! I reserve the right to delete any comments that are rude or inappropriate. Because of spam, I have to moderate comments on old posts. Please be patient - I will approve your comment quickly.

Before the tag in the Genesis footer: !-- Quantcast Tag -->